

Australian Government Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism

10-11 AUGUST, 2011

INTERNATIONAL OFFSHORE PETROLEUM REGULATORS AND OPERATORS SUMMIT

BURSWOOD CONVENTION CENTRE PERTH, AUSTRALIA



CONFIRMED SPEAKERS

DAY 1- WEDNESDAY 10 AUGUST (PM ONLY)

Start Time: 2.00pm

2.00pm SUMMIT OPENING

Welcome to Country

Welcome by Chair, Mr Martin Hoffman, Deputy Secretary, Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism

Keynote Address by The Hon Martin Ferguson AM MP, Minister for Resources and Energy, Minister for Tourism

2.35pm SESSION 1. Montara and Macondo

This session will provide a brief overview of the Montara and Macondo Commissions of Inquiry, the way in which the respective governments have responded to the incidents and the current status of any implementation plans.

Speakers:

- Mr Tommy Beaudreau, Senior Advisor, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Regulation and Enforcement, US
- Dr Donald Boesch, Commissioner, National Commission on the BP Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill and Offshore Drilling, US
- Mr David Borthwick AO PSM, Commissioner, Montara Commission of Inquiry, Australia
- Mr Steven Walker, Head of Offshore Division, Health and Safety Executive, UK

AFTERNOON TEA 3.45 pm - 4.15pm

4.15pm SESSION 2. Global Response

This session will provide an industry perspective on how the two companies involved in the Montara and Macondo incidents have responded and how the global offshore petroleum industry has reacted post Montara and Macondo.

Chair:

- Mr Mike Kelly, Country Manager, BHP Billiton Petroleum Pty Ltd

Speakers:

- Mr Richard Morrison, Head of Global Deepwater Response, BP America, US
- Mr Ken Fitzpatrick, Chief Executive Officer, PTTEP Australasia
- Mr Joep Coppes, Shell Vice President Production Upstream International Europe, Shell EP Europe International Ltd
- Mr Raphael Moura, Head of Safety Division, National Petroleum Agency ANP, Brazil

5.20pm 5.30pm	CLOSING COMMENTS.
7.30pm	SUMMIT DINNER.

The Astral Ballroom

 Mr John Dashwood, Chairman, ExxonMobil Australia 			
 Mi Solin Dashwood, Charman, Exclusion Australia Ms Ann Pickard, Country Chair Shell Australia, Executive Vice President Upstream International Australia 			
 Mr Peter Coleman, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Woodside Energy Ltd 			
 Professor Andrew Hopkins, Professor of Sociology, Research School of Social Science, Australian National University 			
MORNING TEA 10.00am – 10.30am			
SESSION 4. Restoring Public Confidence 10.30am – 12 noon			
This session will explore what more needs to be done to restore public confidence in the global offshore petroleum industry and demonstrate that the industry is serious about protecting human life and the marine environment.			
Chair: Mr David Knox, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director, Santos Ltd Speakers:			
 Mr David Payne, Vice President Drilling and Completions, Chevron Corporation, US Mr Greg Bourne, Consultant 			
 Mr Eric Streitberg, Chairman, Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association 			
LUNCH 12.00 pm – 1.00pm			
SESSION 5. CONCURRENT SESSION	1.00pm – 2.30pm		
SESSION 5A. Regulatory Approach - Doing business post Montara and Macondo	SESSION 5B. Environmental Stewardship		
<u>Chair</u> : Mr Bruce Lake, Managing Director Vermilion Oil and Gas Australia Pty Ltd	<u>Chair</u> : Mr Roy Krzywosinski, Managing Director Chevron Australia Pty Ltd		
Speakers:	<u>Speakers</u> :		
 Mr Darrell McKenna, President, Hess Australia 	 Professor Tony Haymet, Director of Scripps Institute of Occapage and Visa Chancellar for Marine Sciences 		
 Mr Steve Cromar, Chief Drilling Engineer ConocoPhillips Company, UK 	Oceanography, Vice Chancellor for Marine Sciences University of California, US		
 Ms Jane Cutler, Chief Executive Officer 	 Dr Susan Ford, Vice President 		
National Offshore Petroleum Safety Authority	Environment, Safety and Operational Risk Organisation BP, UK		
 Mr Philip Askew, Principal 	 Dr Ian Poiner, Chief Executive Officer Australian Institute of Marine Science 		
Schlumberger Business Consulting, Singapore	 Ms Mary Colreavy, A/g First Assistant Secretary, Environment 		
	Assessment and Compliance Division,		
	Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities		
AFTERNOON TEA 2.30pm – 3.00pm			
SESSION 6. CONCURRENT SESSION	3.00pm – 4.30pm		
SESSION 6A. Innovation and R&D in Well	SESSION 6B. Offshore Industry Incident Response and		
Containment and Deep Sea Drilling	Preparedness		
<u>Chair</u> : Dr Edson Nakagawa, Director, Petroleum and Geothermal Research, CSIRO	<u>Chair</u> : Dr John Tilley, Executive Director, Australian Institute of Petroleum		
Speakers:	<u>Speakers</u> :		
 Mr Keith Lewis, Project Manager Subsea Well Response Project 	 Mr Thomas Coolbaugh, Distinguished Scientific Associate ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company, US 		
 Mr Tom Nolan, General Manager, Well Construction and Integrity INPEX Corporation 	 Mr Ivan Skibinski, General Manager Australian Marine Oil Spill Centre 		
 Dr Pat O'Bryan, Vice President, Wells - BP America, US 	 Mr Graham Peachey, Chief Executive Officer 		
 Mr Jose Luiz Roque, Executive Manager, Petrobras SA -Brazil 	Australian Maritime Safety Authority		
	 Mr David Salt, Operations Director, Oil Spill Response Limited, UK 		
SESSION 7. Plenary - Précis and Closing Session	4.30pm – 5.00pm		
Summit closing address by The Hon Martin Ferguson AM MP, Minister for Resources and Energy, Minister for Tourism			

WELCOME

Culture, Leadership and Prevention SESSION 3.

This session will focus on the need to improve management practices whilst elevating a culture of safety.

Chair: Ms Tania Constable, Head of Resources Division, Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism

Speakers:

DAY 2 – THURSDAY 11 AUGUST 2011 8.30am

8.35am-10.00am