| About bodily injury liability
Every standard auto insurance policy should include bodily injury liability. This type of insurance covers legal costs and any legal liability you may be responsible for if you negligently injure or kill another person with your car.
|
| About no-fault insurance
No-fault insurance systems are established within some individual states in order to reduce the amount of lawsuits. When no-fault insurance exists, each insured motorist's own insurance company will cover any financial losses associated with the auto accident regardless of which driver's at fault.
|
| Are there any discounts?
Because every different company gives different discounts, you should talk to your insurance agent about what discounts are available to you. Discounts are given for several reasons.
|
| Auto liability
Auto liability insurance includes both bodily injury coverage, should you injure someone while driving, and property damage, should any property be damaged as a result of your driving.
|
| Benefits of auto insurance
Owning and maintaining an automobile can be quite a financial commitment. In order to protect yourself and your car in the event of an accident, it is important to purchase auto insurance.
|
| Buying insurance
Auto insurance is important for protecting you in the event of an accident, and it is often required by law in many states. This does not mean, however, that you should make a hasty decision when choosing your coverage.
|
| Comprehensive policies
Comprehensive policies, also known as other than collision coverage, cover damage to your car other than that caused by a wreck. This can include fire, flood, or hail damage or even theft.
|
| Coverage for third parties
A third party refers to an individual who is driving a vehicle that has been loaned to him or her by the owner. Under most personal injury and personal property coverage, injuries to a person or property caused by a third party driver is covered.
|
| Coverage required by law
Automobile insurance is required by law in most states. These laws require drivers to prove they can pay up to a certain amount in the event that they are found responsible for an accident.
|
| Defining book value
Book value is the market value of your car according to publicly known standards. If you have an accident, regardless of how much coverage you've got, an insurance company will never pay you more than the book value of your car at the time of the wreck.
|
| Defining riders
Riders are extra types of insurance which are added to your existing coverage. You can add stolen radio coverage, medical coverage, accidental death coverage, weekly disability or even coverage for driving rental cars.
|
| Determining auto premium
Insurance rates depend on many factors. In fact, the costs of identical car insurance policies can vary as much as one hundred percent in the same state.
|
| Does my driving record matter?
If you need insurance, your driver's record will play an important role in what you get. It determines how much your policy will cost, and even whether or not you're eligible for insurance at all.
|
| Insurance for teenage drivers
Auto insurance premiums are based on the driving record and age of the primary driver for each vehicle. Adding a teenage driver to your insurance could double or even triple your insurance premiums.
|
| Medical payment information
In addition to any other auto insurance you have, you may also want to purchase medical payments coverage. This insurance will cover payment of all doctor and hospital related bills, including your passengers' medical bills, that result from your accident, regardless of who was at fault.
|
| Motorists who are under-insured
You can protect your own financial interest by adding under-insured motorists coverage to your insurance plan. If the accident is not your fault, this insurance will pay any part of your bills that exceed the other driver's policy coverage.
|
| Motorists who are uninsured
People still drive without insurance, despite the fact that it's against the law. If you are involved in an accident with someone without insurance, you could end up paying for auto and medical expenses you hadn't bargained for.
|
| Personal property coverage
Personal property coverage is insurance which will pay for the repair of damages caused by your car to another person's property and for legal fees incurred as a result.
|
| What is collision insurance?
Collision coverage is insurance to pay for damages to your own car in case of an accident. If you're in an accident, contact your insurance agency immediately.
|
