- Previous Tournaments

Search the web
    • adidas Golden Ball: MARTA (BRA)
        • adidas Golden Shoe: MARTA (BRA)
            • FIFA Fair Play award: Norway

Germany became the first team to successfully defend a women's world crown when they overcame Brazil in the final of China 2007.

    • adidas Golden Ball: Birgit PRINZ (GER)
        • adidas Golden Shoe: Birgit PRINZ (GER)
            • FIFA Fair Play award: China PR

Now the FIFA Women's World Cup USA 2003 has finished, women's football fans are now turning their attention to the next global showpiece in 2007. And after one of the most thrilling women's tournaments in history, once-and-future hosts China PR will be hoping to repeat the success of this year's footballing festival.

    • adidas Golden Ball: SUN Wen (CHN)
        • adidas Golden Shoe: SISSI (Sisleide Lima de Amor) (BRA),
        • SUN Wen (CHN)
          • FIFA Fair Play award: China PR

The final FIFA Women's World Cup of the century launched the beginning of a new era of success for women's football and was a milestone in the history of women's sports. For three solid weeks, three hundred and twenty of the best female football players in the world gathered across the United States to stage an event of unprecedented proportions.

    • adidas Golden Ball: Hege RIISE (NOR)
        • adidas Golden Shoe: Ann Kristin AARONES (NOR)
            • FIFA Fair Play award: Sweden

If China in 1991 was the innovation, Sweden in 1995 was the consecration of women's football at the highest level. Players from the best dozen teams in the world came together in the quest for two prizes: the World Cup itself, but also qualification for the first women's Olympic Football Tournament the following year in the United States.

    • adidas Golden Ball: Carin JENNINGS (USA)
        • adidas Golden Shoe: Michelle AKERS (USA)
            • FIFA Fair Play award: Germany

Women's football celebrated its true coming of age in November of 1991 when the Women's World Championship was brought to life on the ambitious initiative of Dr. João Havelange, FIFA President at that time. The first competition kicked off in the People's Republic of China to large and enthusiastic crowds. With twelve nations competing, it proved to be a resounding success.