Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Committee Name:	CPHS National Advisory			
Date of Meeting:	January 14, 2 pm	Location:	Telephone Conference Call	
Minutes Prepared By:	Marilea Chase	Appendices:		

1. Purpose of Meeting

NAC Winter Update Conference Call

2. Attendance at Meeting Name						
Emily Hamilton	Dave Uddin	Carl Jakovec	Don Davidson			
Dan Fisher	Jack Ellis	Maureen Reim	Geoff Wall			
Dick Hartig	Gene Lutz	Suzanne Blackburn	Melissa Corrigan			
Pat Verdun	Marilea Chase					

3. Meeting Agenda

Agenda:

Welcome

Summer Internship Program – Renae Chesnut

ACPE Site Visit Preparation – Chuck Phillips

Document attached for use in the discussion

Selection of Granberg Professional Leadership Award – Dean Rospond

Document attached. Please review beforehand and be ready for

discussion and decision of eligible applicants.

Announcements – Dean Rospond

4. Meeting Notes, Decisions, Issues

The mid-winter CPHS NAC conference call was convened at 2 pm by Dean Raylene Rospond on January 14. 2009.

Template source: http://www.cvr-it.com

4. Meeting Notes, Decisions, Issues

Members on the telephone line registered their attendance verbally. Chair Liz Cardello was unable to participate due to a professional commitment.

Dean Rospond reported on new members that will be joining the NAC: Jerry Ritt, Larry Mayhew, and Bob Egeland. Linda Harrell has been invited and is considering the request.

Renae Chesnut, Associate Dean, explained two upcoming student opportunities. State Senator Jack Hatch is coordinating an independent study for 2 students to work with him in the state legislature this spring semester on legislative issues related to health care, including background research, meetings, etc. Currently also, student applications are being received for 8 summer internship programs funded by NACDS and McKesson (4 internships each). These internships will focus on entrepreneurialism and leadership skills in pharmacy practice. In addition, the 4 McKesson sponsored internships will focus on independent pharmacy practices. Pharmacists Mutual has donated additional funding to help supplement these students for focus on the independent pharmacist today. Both groups will complete the Shaping your Pharmacy Future program in addition to other requirements. Jack Ellis asked the question on how these programs synergize with the curriculum. Currently these programs would come under the entrepreneurial concentration interdisciplinary program with the College of Business as well as stand alone supplements to enhance current courses such as Management in Pharmacy (Pharmacy 174) taught by Dr. Phillips.

Chuck Phillips, Assistant Dean and Chair of the College Self-Study gave the NAC members an update on the self-study and the upcoming site visit in late March. The final self-study document is available on the portal or by visiting the college website and clicking the Institutional Data and Assessment Link on the left side of the home page. This is the same document that the faculty approved in early December as the final document. Marketing and Communications is editing the document for publication in hard copy as required by ACPE. A draft schedule, included in the meeting preparation documents, was reviewed. Dr. Phillips concluded his comments saying that the college strategic plan to be developed this year would pull out the items identified in the self-study including office, classroom, and research space, faculty workload and resources, student advising, and the admissions process that is being implemented. Dean Rospond commended Dr. Phillips for his diligent, detailed, and dedicated work during the entire selfstudy process and the final report.

The College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Day is coming up on February 17, 2009. Numerous awards will be presented during the day. Receiving Alumni Achievement awards will be Patty Kumbera and Larry Mayhew. Michael Case Haub will receive the Young Alumni Achievement award. A subset group of NAC members consisting of Dick Hartig, Liz Cardello, Melissa Murer Corrigan, and John Forbes will be selecting the Hartig Distinguished Professor Award recipient. Dr. Lon Larson will be receiving the Weaver Medal of Honor and giving the lecture at 2 pm on April 22, 2009. NAC members will be receiving Save the Date postcards and invitations. The spring NAC meeting will convene on the morning of April 22,

Template source: http://www.cvr-it.com

4. Meeting Notes, Decisions, Issues

break for the lecture and conclude on April 23.

The final discussion for the conference call centered around the first Granberg Professional Leadership Award that is to be presented on Feb. 17. Information was sent in the meeting packet summarizing the recent professional leadership activities of current faculty members that they submitted with their annual reports for the 07-08 academic year. Dean Rospond noted that if faculty members had a multi-year service commitment with their professional leadership roles that information was listed on the summary. Discussion followed on how to identify specific leadership skills that faculty members demonstrate based on this summary of activities, especially when members of the NAC felt they did not "know" the faculty members on a personal level to effectively evaluate leadership skills and select a recipient. Jack Ellis explained that the Granberg award was focus on faculty members who advance the image and profession of pharmacy through leadership roles in professional organizations at multiple levels—locally, statewide, and nationally. Jack asked Dean Rospond to expand on leadership skills. Dean Rospond described leadership as just that-- leading, but also mentoring, accomplishing goals, completing activities, and focusing on day-to-day skills and actions—all with a broad vision for the advancement of the profession/organization.

Discussion followed on a process, both to select a recipient for this year, and a more refined process of guidelines for future selection. Jack Ellis, Pat Verdun, Dan Fisher, and Gene Lutz and another volunteer will work as a sub group to select this year's Granberg recipient. A separate committee will meet to formalize a future process for the selection of this award recipient annually.

The process outlined for this year is: Dean Rospond will email the faculty criteria for the Granberg award and request they each identify 3 of their peers deserving the honor for their professional leadership skills and a paragraph describing how each fulfills the criteria for the award. CV's and essays will be requested from those nominated as they are tabulated (sub group will decide how many.) The sub group of NAC members will select the recipient of the initial Granberg Award from this final pool.

5. Action Items				
Action	Due Date			
Volunteer for Granberg Committee		ASAP		

6. Next Meeting						
Date:		April 22 – 23				
Agenda:	Send agenda Items to Marilea Chase by April 15.					

April 22 the meeting will convene in the Drake Room of Olmsted at 8:30 am. Weaver Lecture is scheduled for 2 pm, reception 4 - 6 pm.

April 23 the meeting convenes in Cowles Library Room 201 (top of the stairs on the 2nd floor) at 8:00 AM.