## LIEUTENANT GOVERNORS OF SOUTH CAROLINA 1730–2010

(Originally compiled by A. S. Salley, Jr., State Historian.)

There were no lieutenant governors under the government of the Lords Proprietors (1670–1719).

A governor who received a commission from the Proprietors was empowered to appoint a deputy to serve in his place in case of his absence from the province. Only twice in the fifty vears of the Proprietors' rule was there an exercise of that power. In Oct. 1696, when Governor Archdale was leaving for England, he appointed Landgrave Joseph Blake to serve as deputy governor. Blake served as such until early 1697, when he purchased the share of Thomas Archdale and assumed the governorship in right of a proprietor. In Apr. 1716, when Governor Craven was leaving for England, he appointed Robert Daniell deputy governor. Daniell so served from Apr. 22, 1716, to Apr. 30, 1717, when Governor Robert Johnson arrived and assumed the government. After the Crown had bought the interest of the Lords Proprietors in Carolina in 1729 the British government appointed a governor and a lieutenant governor for South Carolina, with terms of office beginning Jan. 1, 1730. Only three men filled the office of lieutenant governor from Jan. 1, 1730 to Mar. 26, 1776, when South Carolina established an independent government. These were Thomas Broughton, William Bull, and William Bull, Jr., father and son.

Prior to the constitution of 1865 the governor and lieutenant governor were elected by the legislature. The lieutenant governor did not preside over the Senate. The Senate elected its own president from its body.

Thomas Broughton, 1730 until death Nov. 22, 1737

William Bull, 1738–1755—(Assumed the government on death of Thomas Broughton, Nov. 22, 1737, as president of the Council; Lieutenant Governor Dec. 23, 1738– Mar. 21, 1755.)

William Bull, 1755-Mar. 26, 1776—(The second Bull, son of first Lieutenant Governor.)

- Henry Laurens, Vice-Pres., 1776–1777—(Laurens was elected to Congress Jan. 10, 1777. James Parsons elected in his stead June 27, 1777 and served to Jan. 9, 1779.)
- Thomas Bee, Jan. 9, 1779–1780—(Elected to Congress Jan. 24, 1780. Christopher Gadsden elected in Bee's stead.) Richard Hutson, Jan. 31, 1782–1783
- Richard Beresford, 1783—(Elected Feb. 4, 1783. He was elected to Congress Mar. 15, 1783. Alexander Gillon elected Aug. 22, 1783, to succeed Beresford, but declined Aug. 27, 1783. Gen. William Moultrie elected in his stead Feb. 16, 1784.)

Charles Drayton, 1785–1787—(Elected Feb. 10 and 11, 1785.) Thomas Gadsden, 1787–1789—(Elected Feb. 20, 1787.) Alexander Gillon, 1789–1791—(Elected Jan. 22, 1789.) Isaac Holmes, 1791–1792—(Elected Feb. 15, 1791.) James Ladson, 1792–1794

Lewis Morris, 1794–1796)—(Elected Dec. 17, 1794.) Robert Anderson, 1796–1798—(Elected Dec. 8, 1796.) John Drayton, 1798–1800—(Elected Dec. 6, 1798, became

Governor upon death of Edward Rutledge, Jan. 23, 1800.) Richard Winn, 1800–1802—(Elected Dec. 4, 1800.) Ezekiel Pickens, 1802–1804—(Elected Dec. 8, 1802.) Thomas Sumter, Jr., 1804–1806—(Elected Dec. 7, 1804.) John Hopkins, 1806–1808—(Elected Dec. 9, 1806.) Frederick Nance, 1808–1810—(Elected Dec. 10, 1808.) Samuel Farrow, 1810–1812—(Elected Dec. 8, 1810.) Eldred Simkins, 1812–1814—(Elected Dec. 10, 1812.) Robert Creswell, 1814–1816

John A. Cuthbert, 1816–1818—(Elected Dec. 5, 1816.) William Youngblood, 1818–1820—(Elected Dec. 18, 1818.) William C. Pinckney, 1820–1822—(Elected Dec. 7, 1820.) Henry Bradley, 1822–1824—(Elected Dec. 7, 1822.) William A. Bull, 1824–1826—(Elected Dec. 3, 1824.) James H. Witherspoon, 1826–1828—(Elected Dec. 9, 1826.) Thomas Williams, 1828–1830—(Elected Dec. 10, 1828.) Patrick Noble, 1830–1832—(Elected Dec. 9, 1830.) Charles Cotesworth Pinckney, 1832–1834—(Elected Dec. 10,

1832.)

Whitemarsh B. Seabrook, 1834-1836—(Elected Dec. 9, 1834.)

William DuBose, 1836-1838-(Elected Dec. 10, 1836.) B. K. Henagan, 1838-1840-(Elected Dec. 18, 1838, became Governor upon death of Patrick Noble, Apr. 7, 1840.) W. K. Clowney, 1840-1842-(Elected Dec. 9, 1840.) Isaac Donnom Witherspoon, 1842-1844-(Elected Dec. 8, 1842.) J. F. Ervin, 1844-1846-(Elected Dec. 7, 1844.) William Cain, 1846-1848-(Elected Dec. 8, 1846.) William H. Gist, 1848-1850-(Elected Dec. 12, 1848.) Joshua John Ward, 1850-1852-(Elected Dec. 13, 1850.) James H. Irby, 1852-1854-(Elected Dec. 9, 1852.) Richard Detreville, 1854-1856-(Elected Dec. 11, 1854.) Gabriel Cannon, 1856-1858-(Elected Dec. 9, 1856.) M. E. Carn, 1858-1860-(Elected Dec. 11, 1858.) W. W. Harllee, 1860-1862-(Elected Dec. 14, 1860.) Plowden C. J. Weston, 1862-1864-(Elected Dec. 16, 1862.) Robert G. McCaw, Dec. 1864-May 25, 1865 W. D. Porter, 1865-1868-(Inaugurated Nov. 30, 1865.) Lemuel Boozer, 1868-1870 A. J. Ransier, 1870-1872 R. Howell Gleaves, 1872-1874 R. H. Gleaves, 1874–1876 W. D. Simpson, 1876-1879-(Became Governor Feb. 26, 1879 upon resignation of Wade Hampton. He resigned Sept. 1, 1880 to become Chief Justice.) John D. Kennedy, 1880-1882 John C. Sheppard, 1882-1886-(July 10, 1886 to Nov. 30, 1886 served as Governor, succeeding Hugh S. Thompson appointed Assistant Secretary of the Treasury by President

Cleveland.)

William L. Mauldin, 1886-1890-(Two terms)

Eugene B. Gary, 1890–1893—(Resigned in 1893 upon being elected to the Supreme Court.)

- W. H. Timmerman, 1893–1897—(President *Pro Tem.* of the Senate and upon resignation of Eugene B. Gary became Lieutenant Governor in 1893.)
- M. B. McSweeney, 1897–1899—(June 2, 1899 became Governor on death of William H. Ellerbe.)
- Robert B. Scarborough, 1899–1901—(President *Pro Tem.* of the Senate became Lieutenant Governor upon the succession of M. B. McSweeney to the governorship.)

- James H. Tillman, 1901-1903
- J. T. Sloan, 1903-1907-(Two terms)
- Thomas G. McLeod, 1907-1911-(Two terms)
- Charles A. Smith, 1911–1915–(Two terms)
- Andrew J. Bethea, 1915-1919-(Two terms)
- J. T. Liles, 1919–1921
- Wilson G. Harvey, 1921–1923—(Succeeded R. A. Cooper as Governor May 20, 1922 and served until Jan. 1923.)
- E. B. Jackson, 1923–1927—(Two terms)
- Thomas Bothwell Butler, 1927–1931—(First Lieutenant Governor to serve under the four-year term.)
- James O. Sheppard, 1931-1935
- J. E. Harley, 1935–1941—(Became Governor Nov. 4, 1941 upon resignation of Governor Burnett R. Maybank and served until his death Feb. 27, 1942.)
- Ransome J. Williams, 1943–1945–(Became Governor upon resignation of Governor Johnston, Jan. 2, 1945.)
- George Bell Timmerman, Jr., Jan. 1947–Jan. 1955
- Ernest F. Hollings, Jan. 1955-Jan. 1959
- Burnett R. Maybank, Jr., Jan. 1959-Jan. 1963
- Robert E. McNair, Jan. 1963–Apr. 1965—(Became Governor upon resignation of Governor Donald S. Russell, Apr. 22, 1965.)
- Office vacant Apr. 23, 1965 to Jan. 1967
- John C. West, Jan. 1967-Jan. 1971
- Earle E. Morris, Jr., Jan. 1971-Jan. 1975
- W. Brantley Harvey, Jr., Jan. 1975-Jan. 1979
- Nancy Stevenson, Jan. 1979-Jan. 1983
- Michael R. Daniel, Jan. 1983-Jan. 1987
- Nick A. Theodore, Jan. 1987-Jan. 1995
- Robert Lee Peeler, Jan. 1995-Jan. 2003
- André Bauer, Jan. 2003-