## **FACT** Sheet



## FIFA executive members: Barons, engineers, doctors and footballers

After the Congress, the Executive Committee is FIFA's highest-ranking body and therefore regularly makes decisions that have a far-reaching influence on football around the globe. We look back over a century of the Executive Committee, focusing on a few of the 144 individuals who have served on the body.

While it would need an intensive public awareness campaign before fans could reel off the names of all eight Presidents and eight General Secretaries in FIFA's just over 100-year history, a few of them need little introduction, such as current FIFA President Joseph S. Blatter, Honorary President Joao Havelange, Sir Stanley Rous and Jules Rimet.

By contrast, the same could hardly be said for the majority of the 144 men who have served on the Executive Committee in the course of FIFA's first century.

Throughout FIFA's first two decades, Executive Committee members came exclusively from the federation's seven founder associations, Germany (who joined FIFA later in its year of foundation, 1904) and England. It was not until 1926 that Mario Ferretti of Italy broke this stranglehold and became the first member from another country. He was soon followed, two years later, by the first non-European, Uruguayan diplomat Dr Enrique E. Buero − a sign of the times, given the South American nation's all-conquering double Olympic gold-winning side of the 1920s and its imminent hosting of the first FIFA World Cup™ in 1930.

As football's popularity grew around the world, representatives from other continents gradually took their places among the decision-makers: New Yorker Dr Randolph Manning became the first North American to be elected to the Executive Committee in 1948, six years later he was followed by compatriot James P. McGuire and Mordy S.L. Maduro from Curação (now part of the Netherlands Antilles). Also in 1954, Egypt's Abdel Azis Abdalla Salem and Hong Kong's Jack Skinner became the first members to represent Africa and Asia at world football's top table.

Oceania was granted a co-opted representative in 1980, who was succeeded by a fully fledged member when the OFC was officially recognised as a confederation in 1996.

## Rimet and Cavan

Among the twelve dozen members of the executive between 1904 and 2004, one particular individual stands out and that is Yugoslav Professor Mihailo Andrejevic, who sat on the FIFA Executive Committee for no fewer than 38 years between 1938 and 1982 (including a break from 1948 to 1954). He was first installed as a member shortly before the outbreak of World War II as the third FIFA World Cup<sup>TM</sup> was kicking off in France in 1938 and announced his retirement ten World Cups later to be justly rewarded with investiture as an Honorary Member.

Having attended the first FIFA World Cup™ in Uruguay in 1930 as a young football-loving doctor and the secretary of his country's football association, Andrejevic's long career took in five FIFA Presidents and the evolution of the FIFA World Cup™ from relatively humble beginnings to a modern-day, global phenomenon, increasingly characterised by marketing and television. When it comes to unbroken service, however, even Andrejevic cannot match Jules Rimet's 34 years of service from 1920 to 1954 or the three decades racked up as a FIFA vice-president – from 1960 to 1990 – by Harry H. Cavan of Northern Ireland.

FS-100\_07E\_Exco.Doc 09/07