My Opera Community

Does anyone find OM4 stable on a Palm Treo/Centro phone?

Forums » Opera Community » Opera for mobiles » Opera Mini

PermalinkFriday, 9. November 2007, 19:55:48

unclejung

Does anyone find OM4 stable on a Palm Treo/Centro phone?

I have a Centro. I love the browser, but OM4 freezes my Palm Centro often enough that I may consider it impractical. This is the only app so far that crashes the Centro. I have been using Palm Treo/Centro lines for 3 years so I am quite familiar with the ins and outs of apps and the little things one can do make it more stable. But I am afraid OM4 is beyond help with the Palm Treo/Centro line. I am hoping to hear of a single case where someone has it run stable in a Treo/Centro device.

My Java VM settings are: 8MB max mem (out of 40MB free), 32K stack, no double buffering, no hi res coord.
Crash symtoms: OM4 mostly unresponsive in the middle of downloading a page and may response to a scrolling action slightly within the first 10 seconds of the freeze, but then eventually no response whatsoever. Had to take out the phone battery to reset.
Other observations: nice page rendering. Love the mobile mode. Great UI. Full screen browing awsome on small device like it's intended. But it is moticeably slower than Blazer downloading pages.

http://discussion.treocentral.com/showthread.php?p=1373399&posted=1#post1373399

PermalinkFriday, 9. November 2007, 20:12:29

orizng

it does crash my centro, but not to the degree of "impractical" in my case.

you may try to reduce memory to 4mb, and lower image quality.

PermalinkFriday, 9. November 2007, 21:27:01

unclejung

I tried 1MB and 8MB, and now 4MB. I doubt it make a difference.