Minister's National Advisory Board on Earth Sciences Terms of Reference

PURPOSE

The Minister's National Advisory Board on Earth Sciences (MNABES) provides advice to the Minister of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) on strategic issues concerned with science and technology (S&T) and related areas that significantly impact on the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS).

OBJECTIVES

- To provide advice on strategic ESS-wide S&T and related issues, for example on:
 - strategic directions and priorities for ESS S&T (e.g., Strategic Plan);
 - alignment, relevance and adequacy of S&T in support of ESS/NRCan mandates and missions; and
 - broad strategic policies from an S&T perspective.
- To identify emerging challenges and opportunities facing ESS, develop possible responses, and participate in environmental scan and long-range strategic planning exercises.
- To respond to specific tasks requested by the Minister, Deputy Minister and the ESS Assistant Deputy Minister.
- To review, as appropriate, reports produced by the Geological Survey of Canada (GSC), Geomatics Canada (GC) and Polar Continental Shelf Project (PCSP) advisory committees concerning the activities and outputs of the three components of ESS, and their relationship to other organizations of the department and the federal government, to provincial and territorial agencies, to universities and to the private sector.

REPORTING

The Board reports to the Minister of Natural Resources Canada.

COMPOSITION

The Board shall consist of a maximum of sixteen members.

The Board shall include nine senior (executive-level) representatives from the various client and stakeholder groups (e.g., private sector, provinces and territories, universities, non-governmental organizations, aboriginal community, professional associations, and other government departments). The members represent various areas of ESS activities or other related activities. They also reflect different backgrounds (e.g., S&T, policy, operations, communications, etc.)

The Board shall also include three additional members: the Chair of each of the Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) advisory committee; the Geomatics Canada (GC) advisory committee; and the Polar Continental Shelf Project (PCSP) advisory committee.

The members shall be appointed by the Minister from candidates proposed by ESS to serve for a term of (normally) three years. Members who chair the GSC, GC and PCSP advisory committees are appointed for a term of a duration equal to their tenure on these committees, not to exceed three years. Terms may be renewed by the Minister.

In addition, the Board shall have four ex-officio members representing the following organizations:

- the Canadian Geoscience Council;
- the Committee of Provincial Geologists;
- the Geomatics Industry Association of Canada; and
- the Canadian Council on Geomatics provincial component.

The four ex-officio members, chosen by the organizations they represent, shall be acknowledged by the Minister.

A chairperson and a vice-chairperson shall be appointed by the Minister among the twelve members and shall be members of the Minister's Advisory Council on Science and Technology (MACST).

Members shall serve as independent experts and not as representatives of individual institutions. Ex-officio members shall speak on behalf of the organizations they represent and shall ensure that their organizations are aware of the Board's advice to the Minister.

METHOD OF OPERATION

The Board shall meet twice a year (in the spring and fall) and submit a report to the Minister summarizing its recommendations after each meeting. Efforts will be made to have Board members present their recommendations directly to and receive input from the Minister once a year, during the spring meeting.

The Board shall address topics that arise from, or are pertinent to, its objectives. As well, the Board shall address other related issues that may emerge from time to time, and any issues that are referred to the Board by the Minister.

The Board shall be authorized to create ad-hoc subcommittees to address specific issues put forward by the Minister, Deputy Minister and the ESS Assistant Deputy Minister. These ad-hoc subcommittees will be chaired by one member of the Board, who will report to the Board. Other subcommittee members will be drawn from the Board, ESS and other organizations on the basis of their expertise and knowledge of the issue at hand. Subcommittees will be authorized to commission studies.

The Earth Sciences Sector shall provide secretariat for the Board and its ad hoc subcommittees.

COMPENSATION

Board members and people on ad hoc subcommittees serve without remuneration, but will be reimbursed, on request, for travel and living expenses associated with Board meetings and subcommittee work according to the Treasury Board guidelines.